How To Root The Samsung Galaxy SIII

Some people really want to have Jelly Bean on their Galaxy SIII already. However until carries and Samsung release a finished version flashing a ROM is your only chance to try out the new version of Android. If you want to try to put a new ROM on your device and you understand the dangers of rooting ( and possibly bricking) your device then the guys at the XDA forum have a good method that does not involve ODIN to Root the Galaxy S3. I myself tried this with my Verizon SIII and I found the process to be easy and simple. Heres the link to the XDA forum. I really recommend reading the post because of the dangers that could happen if you root your device, and I in no way take responsibility if you decide to root your own device. The instructions are pretty straight forward, you first need the drivers for the SIII to be installed, then after the you plug-in your phone in USB debugging mode you double-click the .bat file and BOOM!. you phone is now rooted!

Instructions:

  1. Install the USB drivers if you don’t have them already: Verizon_Wireless_I535_GSIII_Samsung_USB_Driver_v1_ 4_6_0.exe
  2. Download the package and extract it somewhere (you’ll need 7-Zip or some other modern compression tool) Make sure you extract all the files to a folder somewhere! Running it straight from your compression program probably won’t work.
  3. On your phone, enable installation of third-party apps (Settings –> Security –> Unknown sources, near the bottom in the “Device administration” section)
  4. On your phone, enable USB debugging (Settings –> Developer options –> USB debugging)
  5. On your PC, make sure you don’t have any other Android devices connected, any Android emulators running, or any Android tools like PdaNet running.
  6. Plug your phone into a USB port on your computer. For best results, use a port directly on the machine, and not a USB hub.
  7. Double-click RootDebugfs.bat and follow the directions on the screen. Your phone will reboot 3 or 4 times during the process; just leave it plugged in. To be safe, don’t switch to any other applications while the root process is running.

 

Because my phone was through Verizon I had to remove the bootlock on the phone as well, luckily there’s an app for that! EZ-Unlock can unlock or lock your bootlocker with one touch.

It doesn’t get much easier than this people, open the app, press unlock, and you’re done!

 

I downloaded ROM manager by clockwork mod to flash my phones backup. I love clockwork mods services and Ill post about them later on. This step is really important, if your screw up your phone while putting on a ROM without a backup then you’re in a world of hurt. The way I rooted my phone (through the method above) didn’t include me backing up my device, so I had to find this out myself, there are other ways with ODIN, but personally I love ROM manager.

Once unlocked it was really easy to find a ROM. The instructions below from galaxys3root.com use a lot of ROM manager techniques so it’s really important to have that installed and backing up your device. Right now the best ROM I have used is CM10 M1 this is a Cyanogen stable ROM for Jelly Bean. I find it to be very fast and it offers great performance. The guys at galaxys3root even have the download file with the Google apps apk (GAPPS), and installation instructions for all carriers. You can check out their site here. There is even a video with step by step instructions and troubleshooting help if you run into problems along the way!

However I did unroot my device last week because I needed to have it repaired after I dropped it. I am going to post the instructions and links for that later on, but for now good luck with your rooting!

One thought on “How To Root The Samsung Galaxy SIII

  1. Pingback: How to Unroot the Samsung Galaxy SIII | Everything Samsung Galaxy S3 related

Leave a Reply

